carrickfergus

 

{t:Carrickfergus}

{st:Trad}

[A] I wish I [Bm]was [E]in Carrickf[A]ergus,[F#m] only for ni[Bm]ghts[E] in Ballygra[A]nt[D]  [A]

I would swim [Bm]over [E]the deepest o[A]cean,[F#m] the deepest ocean[Bm] my love to find [E][A] [D]  [A]

But t[E]he sea is w[A]ide[F#m] and I cannot swim [E]over, neither h[A]ave [F#m]I th[D]e wings t[E]o fly

[A]I must [Bm]find me [E]a handsome b[A]oatman [F#m]to ferry me ov[Bm]er t[E]o my love and di[A]e

My childhood [Bm]days [E] bring back [D]sweet [A]reflections

[F#m] Of happy [Bm]hours I spent [E] so [D] long ago [A]

My boyhood [Bm]friends [E]and my [D]kind [A]relations

[F#m] Have all past on [Bm]now [E]with the [D]melting [A]snow

So I’ll spend my [F#m]days in this endless [E]roving

Soft is the [A]grass and [F#m]sure, my [D]bed is [E]free

Oh to be [Bm]home now [E]in Carrickfergus[A]

[F#m]On the long rode [Bm]down to [E]the [D]salty [A]sea

Now in Kilkenny it is reported

On marble stone there as black as ink

With gold and silver I would support her

But I’ll sing no more now til I get a drink

Cause I’m drunk today and I’m seldom sober

A handsome rover from town to town

Ah but I’m sick now my days are number

Come all me young men and lay me down

Come all me young men and lay me down.

Leave a Reply

